Backing up your `controls`??

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • thecheekymonkey

    #1

    Backing up your `controls`??

    the time has come, yet again, to re-install the games, which i dont mind too much, however what really ****es me off is having to prog all my controls back in, is there any way to back up my controls for the re-install???


    cheers
  • thecheekymonkey

    #2
    Backing up your `controls`??

    the time has come, yet again, to re-install the games, which i dont mind too much, however what really ****es me off is having to prog all my controls back in, is there any way to back up my controls for the re-install???


    cheers

    Comment

    • gungho

      #3
      Re: Backing up your `controls`??

      If you look in the folder -
      C:\Documents and Settings\{Your windows user name}\My Documents\Battlefield 2\Profiles

      there will be several folders, like DEFAULT & 0001. Just copy EVERYTHING in the profiles directory somewhere safe & then copy them back after re-installing. Worked for me several times

      Comment

      • gungho

        #4
        Re: Backing up your `controls`??

        If you look in the folder -
        C:\Documents and Settings\{Your windows user name}\My Documents\Battlefield 2\Profiles

        there will be several folders, like DEFAULT & 0001. Just copy EVERYTHING in the profiles directory somewhere safe & then copy them back after re-installing. Worked for me several times

        Comment

        • thecheekymonkey

          #5
          Re: Backing up your `controls`??

          Many thanks my friend, real ballache lol, i`m just in the process of installing everything now, i had a good idea that it would be in the profiles, just wanted confirmation

          thanks

          Comment

          • thecheekymonkey

            #6
            Re: Backing up your `controls`??

            Many thanks my friend, real ballache lol, i`m just in the process of installing everything now, i had a good idea that it would be in the profiles, just wanted confirmation

            thanks

            Comment

            • gungho

              #7
              Re: Backing up your `controls`??

              The controls.con is the file that holds all your control settings, the other files are other settings, video/audio etc. Glad to help.

              Comment

              • gungho

                #8
                Re: Backing up your `controls`??

                The controls.con is the file that holds all your control settings, the other files are other settings, video/audio etc. Glad to help.

                Comment

                • Hot Tub Man #1

                  #9
                  Re: Backing up your `controls`??

                  I would recommend against saving the profiles folder in its entirety and instead save just the controls.con. After doing a reformat, I copied the old profiles folder into my new profiles folder, thus preserving all the old settings. However, for some reason, the framerate was absolute crap, even though I changed no hardware or drivers. I fixed it by deleting the profile folders, while only replacing the controls.con to keep my controls. I think it may have something to do with BF2 optimizing the settings for whatever your computer configuration is at the time, and the reformat may have changed the configuration to something different from what was optimized in my video settings.

                  That last part was me talking out of my ass with no factual basis, but my experience tells me that if you're interested in just keeping your controls, then keep only your controls.con and add your existing profiles again through BF2.

                  Comment

                  • Hot Tub Man #1

                    #10
                    Re: Backing up your `controls`??

                    I would recommend against saving the profiles folder in its entirety and instead save just the controls.con. After doing a reformat, I copied the old profiles folder into my new profiles folder, thus preserving all the old settings. However, for some reason, the framerate was absolute crap, even though I changed no hardware or drivers. I fixed it by deleting the profile folders, while only replacing the controls.con to keep my controls. I think it may have something to do with BF2 optimizing the settings for whatever your computer configuration is at the time, and the reformat may have changed the configuration to something different from what was optimized in my video settings.

                    That last part was me talking out of my ass with no factual basis, but my experience tells me that if you're interested in just keeping your controls, then keep only your controls.con and add your existing profiles again through BF2.

                    Comment

                    • thecheekymonkey

                      #11
                      Re: Backing up your `controls`??

                      anyways it worked, cheers all. (saying `it worked` with battlefield 2 is hard for me to say, considering the game crash more times than a ****ed up joyrider)

                      but cheers all the same

                      Comment

                      • thecheekymonkey

                        #12
                        Re: Backing up your `controls`??

                        anyways it worked, cheers all. (saying `it worked` with battlefield 2 is hard for me to say, considering the game crash more times than a ****ed up joyrider)

                        but cheers all the same

                        Comment

                        • Blud

                          #13
                          Re: Backing up your `controls`??

                          Actually, when you uninstall it asks you if you want to delete all your profile files. Say no and they will still be there when you reinstall.

                          Comment

                          • Blud

                            #14
                            Re: Backing up your `controls`??

                            Actually, when you uninstall it asks you if you want to delete all your profile files. Say no and they will still be there when you reinstall.

                            Comment

                            Working...